score card research
LA Galaxy
LA Galaxy Dates

LA Galaxy Biography

The LA Galaxy are Major League Soccer’s most successful team. One of the original 10 clubs in MLS, the Galaxy debuted in 1996 and have won MLS Cup five times, the most of any MLS side. In addition to their five MLS championships, the Galaxy have also won the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup twice and the CONCACAF Champions Cup once.
Owned and operated by AEG, the Galaxy play their home games at Dignity Health Sports Park in Carson, Calif. A state-of-the-art 25,174-seat facility, Dignity Health Sports Park has hosted MLS Cup a record six times, including in 2011 and 2012, when LA won back-to-back titles in front of record home crowds. After spending their first seven years playing at the historic Rose Bowl in Pasadena, the club moved to what is now Dignity Health Sports Park when the stadium opened in June 2003.
The LA Galaxy won their first MLS Cup in 2002, defeating the New England Revolution 1-0 in extra-time in front of more than 60,000 fans at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. A second championship followed in 2005 with another 1-0 extra-time win over New England in Texas. The Galaxy then became just the third team in MLS history to win back-to-back MLS Cup titles, defeating the Houston Dynamo in 2011 and 2012 in front of capacity home crowds. The club’s unprecedented fifth MLS Cup win came on December 7, 2014, when the club defeated the New England Revolution 2-1 in extra time. 
Some of the greatest players in MLS history, including David Beckham, Mauricio Cienfuegos, Landon Donovan, Kevin Hartman, Javier “Chicharito” Hernández, Zlatan Ibrahimović, Cobi Jones, Robbie Keane and Carlos Ruiz, have represented the Galaxy.

mail Sign up for our weekly event guide email.


Be the first to know. Get personalized event announcements, updates, and reviews every week with the event guide email.

Privacy Policy