Rykka performs for Switzerland in Eurovision 2016

Rykka performs for Switzerland in Eurovision 2016

Photo used with permission from Thomas Hanses (EBU)

Switzerland has only advanced from the semifinals just twice in the past ten years and with that they have announced a change to their selection process for Eurovision 2017 on Tuesday. The Swiss broadcaster SRF has announced that they will have a 21 member selection panel to select the shortlist to compete in their national final.

Following the removal of regional quotas, SRF opened up the selection to anyone with ties to Switzerland. That lead to 160 songs, seven less than 2015, but now they are all Swiss artists as opposed to artists who may have missed out on their own national selection (with Cyprus and the Netherlands already announced that would be theoretically possible).

SRF has put together a panel of 21 music experts from all over Switzerland, who will be making the cuts from that list of 160. That list will be cut to 20 songs with the singers then undergoing a live check on December 4th which will assess each artist’s live performance.

The judges will attend this live check and will assess all 20, cutting them down to somewhere between six and ten. That final collection of artists will compete in February’s national final, with the public selecting the winner.

Switzerland selects the winner of their selection show through a 100% televote, meaning the jury won’t have any votes in the final. The Swiss have been seeking glory ever since their last win, by Canadian Celine Dion who won in 1988 with Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi after winning the first contest in 1956, both songs in French, selected by their French broadcaster, their 2017 selection will be selected by their German language broadcaster.