Pitchfork Music Festival set times released

Pitchfork is an erudite news source for music criticism and commentary, and the Pitchfork Music Festival is a curated realization of that resource. Many of the artists deemed "good"—according to the numerical ratings allocated by critics on the website—are featured in the Chicago festival that occurs every July. The event began in 2006 and was largely focused on underground indie rock, a focus that has since expanded to include pop, hip hop, folk, jazz, heavy metal, experimental and various forms of electronic dance music. Still, Pitchfork remains known primarily as the premier resource for indie rock.

As is the case with similar events, Pitchfork increases anticipation by temporarily restricting information relevant to the festival—i.e. they hint at some of the possible bands in the lineup, and then reveal a few, and then they release the days that each artist will play, and so forth. This practice results in fans purchasing tickets with quixotic hopes that this year will be the year in which all of their favorite bands play—coupled with apprehension that none of those bands' set times will conflict with another.

For those of you for which that sentiment rings true, the breath holding is over. Yes indeed, the disquieting angst of the unknown has ended, for this past weekend Pitchfork released the list of its 2014 set times. So check 'em out, make your choices, prepare your artist lists, and start dreaming of the sweltering July sun in a Union Park brimming with good tunes.

Three-day passes are sold out, but all you snoozers can still buy single-day tickets here.

Friday, July 18:

Gates at 3 p.m.

8:30 Beck (GREEN)
7:20 Giorgio Moroder (RED)
7:15 Avey Tare’s Slasher Flicks (BLUE)
6:25 Sun Kil Moon (GREEN)
6:15 SZA (BLUE)
5:30 Sharon Van Etten (RED)
5:15 The Haxan Cloak (BLUE)
4:35 Neneh Cherry (GREEN)
4:15 Factory Floor (BLUE)
3:30 Death Grips (RED)
3:20 Hundred Waters (BLUE)

Saturday, July 19:

Gates at 12 p.m.

8:30 Neutral Milk Hotel (GREEN)
7:45 FKA Twigs (BLUE)
7:25 St. Vincent (RED)
6:45 The Field (BLUE)
6:15 Danny Brown (GREEN)
5:45 Kelela (BLUE)
5:15 tUnE-yArDs (RED)
4:45 The Range (BLUE)
4:15 Pusha T (GREEN)
3:45 Mas Ysa (BLUE)
3:20 Cloud Nothings (RED)
2:50 Empress Of (BLUE)
2:30 Wild Beasts (GREEN)
1:55 Circulatory System (BLUE)
1:45 Ka (RED)
1:00 Twin Peaks (GREEN)

Sunday, July 20

Gates at 12 p.m.

8:30pm – Kendrick Lamar (GREEN)
7:45pm – Hudson Mohawke (BLUE)
7:25pm – Grimes (RED)
6:45pm – DJ Spinn (BLUE)
6:15pm – Slowdive (GREEN)
5:45pm – Majical Cloudz (BLUE)
5:15pm – Real Estate (RED)
4:45pm – Jon Hopkins (BLUE)
4:15pm – Schoolboy Q (GREEN)
3:45pm – Dum Dum Girls (BLUE)
3:20pm – Earl Sweatshirt (RED)
2:50pm – Isaiah Rashad (BLUE)
2:30pm – Deafheaven (GREEN)
1:55pm – Perfect Pussy (BLUE)
1:45pm – DIIV (RED)
1pm – Speedy Ortiz (BLUE)
1pm – Mutual Benefit (GREEN)