Overkill new album preview on 70000 Tons of Metal cruise, released Friday
Camera: Tom Pless

Of all 18 studio albums New Jersey thrash outfit Overkill has released since 1985, none of those titles has been more apropos than the one that dropped Friday. The wrecking crew led by original vocalist Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth and original bassist D.D. Verni released The Grinding Wheel to the world. They had first unveiled several tracks the previous Friday to any of the 3,000 passengers from 74 countries who wanted to preview it aboard the seventh annual 70000 Tons of Metal cruise.

Literally minutes prior to that world premiere, Blitz went "Into the Pit" with AXS to discuss the new effort, the voyage, Overkill's career and the group's impending stop Thursday, March 2 at Alamo City Music Hall in San Antonio with Nile (tickets here) among other topics.

Alums of the second 70000 Tons voyage in 2012, Overkill this time was the final of the 61 artists announced. Ironically, the group replaced Nile when that band had a visa issue with one of its members.

From '80s songs such as "Rotten to the Core," "Powersurge" and "Hello From the Gutter" to newer-but-maybe-even-heavier tracks this century such as "Bring Me the Night," "Electric Rattlesnake" and "Armorist," Overkill continues to grind along when other bands have taken hiatuses or called it quits.

Get a taste of the new CD, which also features lead guitarist Dave Linsk, rhythm guitarist Derek Tailer and drummer Ron Lipnicki, by watching the video for "Goddamn Trouble." Click the video box to hear Blitz discuss all things Overkill, and stay tuned for coverage of each of the band's concerts aboard the ship.