Demon Hunter releases video for new song 'Died In My Sleep'

To this day and even with the worldwide success of groups like Stryper, Christian heavy metal bands still tend to be the underdogs of metal. That's not stopping Seattle, Washington's Demon Hunter, who after more than 15 years and seven studio albums, is still going strong.

With their eighth studio album on the horizon and set to drop on Mar. 31 via Solid State Records, metalcore's Demon Hunter have just released a peek into the new album, and it's going to rock your socks off. Taken from the forthcoming album, Outlive, Demon Hunter's new song, "Died In My Sleep" is making even the pickiest of metalheads do a double-take.

"The video treatment for 'Died In My Sleep' was more about an overall vibe than a specific story," Demon Hunter vocalist Ryan Clark explained to Loudwire, who premiered the new video. "The goal was to strip the concept back to strictly performance, but still deliver something visually interesting. Instead of opting for the typical desaturated tones that have become synonymous with metal videos, we pulled inspiration from the vibrant colors found in many of our favorite videos and photographs from the '90s — namely Nirvana’s video for 'Heart-Shaped Box' and the album cover for Alice In Chains’ 'Facelift.'" And the of course there are the obvious aural aspects of the song to be experienced and enjoyed - click here to check out the whole package now. 

Later this summer, Demon Hunter will be making a rare live appearance at the Chicago Open Air festival. Set to play alongside bands like like KISS, Anthrax, Rob Zombie, Slayer, Korn, and Ozzy Osbourne, Demon Hunter is scheduled to take the stage on Sunday, July 16 and all Demon Hunter fans anywhere near the Chicago-area need to get themselves there.

Official track listing for Demon Hunter's Outlive is as follows:

01. "Trying Times"
02. "Jesus Wept"
03. "Cold Winter Sun"
04. "Died In My Sleep"
05. "Half As Dead"
06. "Cold Blood"
07. "One Step Behind"
08. "Raining Down"
09. "The End"
10. "One Less"
11. "Patience"
12. "Slight the Odds"