score card research
Three Sisters
Three Sisters Dates

Sorry, there are no Three Sisters dates.

Three Sisters Biography

Following the smash-hit Barber Shop Chronicles, the National Theatre welcomed the return of Inua Ellams with his heartbreaking retelling of Chekhov’s Three Sisters. The highly acclaimed production will transfer from the National to London’s Lyttelton Theatre, following rave reviews that sing the praises of playwright Ellams once again. The production will start performances from 19 December 2019 and will have a two-month season that will end 19th February 2020. Be sure to book your tickets for Three Sisters as this limited engagement will book up quickly!

What is Three Sisters about?

Three Sisters takes us to Owerri, Nigeria, in 1967, at the dawn of the Biafran Civil War. Sisters Lolo, Nne Chukwu and Udo are grieving the loss of their father and long to return to their previous home in Lagos. This comes as no surprise as just a matter of months before, the country was plunged into chaos by two military coups. The provincial village is being encroached on by the conflict as the chaos is fuelled by foreign intervention causing it to grow rapidly. Is there an escape for the sisters who seek the safety of a place they once called home?

Who wrote Three Sisters?

The rising star that is playwright Inua Ellams wrote Three Sisters; which had an acclaimed run at London’s National Theatre. Ellams is Nigerian born and now lives and works in London where he is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. As well as being a playwright, Ellams is also a touring poet, performer, graphic artist and designer. He was awarded a Fringe First for his first play The 14th Tale at the Edinburgh International Theatre Festival. He is well known for the smash hit Barber Shop Chronicles which had a sell-out run at the National Theatre before transferring to the Roundhouse.

Three Sisters Cast and Creative team

The production is directed by Nadia Fall (King Hedley II), composed by Femi Temowo, with music direction by Michael Henry, movement direction by Jack Murphy and fight direction by Rachel Bown-Williams and Ruth Cooper-Brown. The design team is comprised of Peter Mumford (lighting design), Donato Wharton (sound designer) and Katrina Lindsay (set and costume designer).

The cast features Ronke AdekoleujoAdedeji AdetayoJonathan AjayiJude AkuwudikeAmarachi AttamahTobi BamtefaPeter BankoleAnni DomingoLola MayJerome NgonadiSarah NilesKen NwosuRacheal OforiJoseph OgelekaNasa OhaleteOffue OkegbeChloe OkoraSule RimiNatalie Simpson and Diana Yekinni.


mail Sign up for our weekly event guide email.


Be the first to know. Get personalized event announcements, updates, and reviews every week with the event guide email.

Privacy Policy